I Can’t Afford an Advocate…Now What?

While brainstorming for topics to write about, I polled friends and families who have had connections to or experience in special education. One mother I spoke to posed the question, “What do parents do when they cannot afford an advocate?” When I asked fellow educators in the field, they agreed it was definitely a hot topic/controversial issue, but I still did not quite get an answer. In order to find my answer, I had to start at the beginning.

An advocate is defined as:

  1. One that argues for a cause; a supporter or defender; an advocate of civil rights.
  2. One that pleads in another’s behalf; an intercessor; advocates for abused children and spouses.
  3. A lawyer. (The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Third Edition)

By this definition, an advocate means a teacher, a parent, or a friend: individuals who care for a child with special needs and are looking out for their rights. Hiring an advocate is different, however. Their job is to ensure that the child is receiving the proper services and all aspects of the IEP are being met. Click on this link to see an article that explains the top ten reasons why you should have an advocate for your child with special needs. It is easy to see why an advocate would be ideal. As a teacher, I am going back to school to learn about all of the laws, rights, and educational strategies that best meet exceptional learners’ needs. It could be quite difficult for a parent with little to no experience in the matters of special education to understand what needs to happen to ensure their child’s success. However, not everybody can afford to hire an advocate. The question remains: what do you do now?

There are some options for these parents. It is very important to educate yourself in the laws and rights that your child is provided with. Parenting Special Needs Magazine provides information on how to advocate for your child yourself, including materials you will need and resources for you to use. In addition to completing your own research, there are groups to turn to. Statewide Parent Advocacy Network, also known as SPAN, helps professionals and parents come to a better understanding of what their rights are, how to start a process to help their child, and other important resources on how to provide them with the best education possible. Resources like SPAN and others are a great resource for parents. Although issues such as misinterpreting the laws or still not having a full understanding of them are still a risk, these resources will help parents take the steps necessary to advocate for their child and feel more in control over what is happening in their educational experience.

2 thoughts on “I Can’t Afford an Advocate…Now What?

  1. I think you nailed it with knowing where to connect parents to advocacy organizations like SPAN. I am new to New Jersey and I went to SPAN to get a finger on the pulse of the state. They are a wonderful organization doing fantastic work. I am happy you have them on your radar.

    Like

  2. It just happened to have come on my radar. I have a friend who has a son with hydrocephalus and when she learned about my blog, had mentioned not knowing what to do without an advocate. My aunt had overheard me talking about it and suggested she contact SPAN. I did some research about the services they provided and thought it would be good for other people to know about as well. I will definitely keep it in mind for the future!

    Like

Leave a comment